Katalay.net

The Night Tiger A Novel By Yangsze Choo

0 951

The Night Tiger A Novel By Yangsze Choo

"A lush garden labyrinth of a novel that immerses readers in a complex, vanished world." IrkKirkus

By New York Times best-selling author Yangsze Choo, an absolutely transporting novel from 1930's colonial Malaysia, perfect for fans of Isabel Allende and Min Jin Lee

Clever, ambitious Ji Lin is a seamstress, a ballroom girl in the moonlight, helping to pay off her mother's mahjong debt. But when one of her dance partners accidentally leaves a cruel memory, Ji Lin can finally get the adventure she longs for.

The eleven-year-old boy, Ren, is also on a mission to fulfill the dying wish of his former master: that Ren finds the finger of the man he had lost years ago in an accident and buried him in his body. Ren has 49 days, or the soul of his Lord will walk forever on earth.

As the days go by, a series of unexplained deaths raid the district, along with a whisper of men turning into tigers. Ji Lin and Ren's increasingly dangerous trails criss-cross lush plantations, hospital storehouses, and ghostly dreamscapes.

Yangsze Choo's The Night Tiger takes us into a world of servants and masters, ancient superstition and modern idealism, sibling rivalry and forbidden love. However, anchoring this dazzling, impelling novel is the intimate coming of a child and a young woman, each seeking their place in a society that prefers to remain invisible.

"A work of incredible beauty ... Amazingly captivating and striking ... A transcendent story of courage and connection." Book list (marked rating)

Write a Review

Facebook Comments

Recent Posts

Unfreedom Of The Press By Mark R. LevinUnfreedom Of The Press By Mark R. Levin

New York Times' five-time bestselling author FOX News S...

0 567
The Overdue Life Of Amy Byler By Kelly Harms, A NovelThe Overdue Life Of Amy Byler By Kelly Harms, A Novel

An Amazon charts and Washington Post bestseller.laugh-o...

0 969
Magnolia Kitchen - Inspired Baking with Personality By Bernadette GeeMagnolia Kitchen - Inspired Baking with Personality By Bernadette Gee

Bets of Magnolia Kitchen is known for its artistic cake...

0 1.487

Most Read

Educated: A Memoir, Tara WestoverEducated: A Memoir, Tara Westover

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • An unforgettable memoir ...

0 3.776
Origin A Novel By Dan BrownOrigin A Novel By Dan Brown

The #1 New York Times Bestseller (October 2017) from th...

0 2.697

Popular Posts

Consumed By J.R. WardConsumed By J.R. Ward

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the po...

0 923
After You By Jojo MoyesAfter You By Jojo Moyes

“We all lose what we love at some point, but in her poi...

0 726
Wonder By R. J. PalacioWonder By R. J. Palacio

NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING JULIA ROBERTS, OWEN...

0 1.559

Donate

Tags